Brand new, but from 1982: Basis 108 Apple clone

New-in-box (NIB) vintage computers are not that rare. Unused models of popular brands like Commodore, Atari, Apple, Radio Shack, or the IBM PC occasionally pop up. Finding an obscure system like the Basis 108 that’s never been used is almost unheard of.

The Basis 108 below came my way from a former Kaypro dealer who purchased it new and never used it. It’s a base model with no disk drives or add-on boards, but has complete documentation including the original Utility and Booter disks.

Basis 108 with cover plates over the drive bays

A visual inspection confirms that this computer was never used. The plastic pads on the bottom of the case show no wear, and the case and keyboard are pristine. The motherboard is free from dust and corrosion as the unit has been boxed for decades. It has a low serial number, too: 426 out of a total 25,000 production run.

Basis 108 keyboard
Basis 108 motherboard

What is the Basis 108?

The Basis 108 is a high-quality Apple II clone produced by a German Apple dealer who thought he could build a better system. It is a much larger unit than the Apple II with a heavy metal case that measures 19.5 inches wide by 7.5 inches high by 19 inches deep. The biggest difference from the Apple II is its Z80 coprocessor, which allows the Basis 108 to run CP/M software. The keyboard is big, metal, and heavy with two keypads–one with directional keys and the other numerical.

The optional monitor has a great retro look where the CRT is mounted in a U-shaped yoke. Here’s a PDF of the system specs with a photo of the complete unit.

The NIB dilemma: Use or preserve?

I’m very happy to have this computer, but it does create a dilemma for me. I originally thought this would be a good system to play with. I’m mainly a TRS-80 guy, but always liked the Apple II line. This, I thought, would give me an opportunity to learn more about the Apple II with some cross-over to the Z80 world.

Once the Basis 108 arrived, I started having second thoughts. To use it, I’d have to install disk drives and maybe some new add-on boards and then go through the careful process of powering up after a long time in storage. By the time I finish, it would be a used computer.

I asked Tom Owad at Applefritter for his opinion. He suggested documenting it before I played with it, but then put it back in the box. I looked to my other hobby interest, vintage cars, for ideas. The car hobby has what it calls a “preservation class” for vintage cars that are completely original and unrestored. However, preservation class cars are still used cars. “New” vintage cars exist, but they are extremely rare. No help there.

I’m leaning toward documenting, researching, and preserving the Basis 108 as is. The chance of damaging it with a clumsy move or mistake when installing new hardware is just too great. I am open to suggestions. What would you do?

3 thoughts on “Brand new, but from 1982: Basis 108 Apple clone

  1. I had a Basis 108 (*with* disk drives) in 1984. I knew no CP/M but it sounded important to have. I traded it away in a year and bought an Apple IIe (just found the receipt for that, dated 1985). Fun tools … err, toys!

  2. I’m in the process of building a web site – basis.computer . I have three Basis 108’s. I’ve reverse-engineered the keyboard (black keys) and will be designing a PS/2 to Basis controller. I have a lot more stuff to share. I’ll be hosting a wiki at the site, and I hope, once everything is up you can be a contributor.

Leave a comment